Silhouette of a road sign over a sunset backdrop

Looking Forward//Looking Back
for mixed quintet

This single-movement work for mixed chamber quintet emerged from melancholic feelings of optimism and fear for the road ahead of me. Often hearing that we must look into our past to prepare for our future, I infused musical ideas of nostalgia with a forward-thinking feel. The melodies in this work often linger while the rhythmic background pushes forward, emulating our desire to hold on to the familiar while the world continues to turn.

The original instrumentation of this work calls for soprano sax, bass clarinet, trombone, piano and drums. However, this work can be flexibly applied, and I am happy to provide versions of this work suitable to your ensemble at no additional cost. The ranges of the winds are listed below in concert pitch:

S.Sax Bb3–D6

B.Cl. Db2–Bb4

Tbn. G2–G4

"Looking Forward//Looking Back" was premiered by Owen Switzer, soprano saxophone; Hayley Johnson, bass clarinet; James Laceby, trombone; Caitlin Strong, piano; and Noah Batten, drums, at Hope's composition recital on April 10, 2021.